Keeping make up fun

I like make up, a lot. I anticipate the cosmetic companies’ seasonal releases like most children waiting for Hannukah or Christmas. I peruse style.com runways for photos of make-up as well as clothing.
The Internet is my make-up candy store and I’m the proverbial kid.
When I need to know how an eye shadow or lipstick is going to look on my winter skin, a quick Google search finds me all the photos I want.
I cannot count the number of YouTube videos I watched when I wanted to learn how to do a cut crease, put on false eyelashes, and get the perfect cat eye. I anticipate the latest videos for Sali Hughes and Lisa Eldridge. Anticipate? More like squeal with delight.
Then there’s Pinterest. I have thousands of pins of make-up looks, a perfume wishlist, and yummy recipes I am never going to make. Don’t we all?
I do have quibbles. Ten shades of eye shadow for a natural eye? Really? Another contouring video? Exactly how sculpted does a brow need to be? Usually, I tell myself to calm down, we’re all out here trying to have fun and do our own thing. Who am I to criticize?
In the end. As much time as I spend looking at and researching make-up, my over riding philosophy is make up should be fun. I keep it fun two ways, I do not wear it everyday and I do not obsess over my imperfections.
First, I do not wear make up everyday. On the days I do wear it, I am probably not wearing foundation and concealer. I’ve done a contour five times. Eye shadow is either my go to Dior Cuir Cannage palette or Laura Mercier’s Caviar Stick, a quick swipe of liner and mascara, some blush, and a lippie and I’m ready to go. The only thing I will probably put on is lipstick. I admit, it is my weakness, plus it’s easy and portable. Everything else requires a commitment in front of a well lit mirror. Lipstick is forgiving, eyeliner is not.
I don’t obsess about my imperfections. I list them under things I can’t do anything about so I better accept it and move on. I admit it, I have fine lines. Oh, well. Bonus, it saves me money, I don’t buy those crazy creams that don’t work.

One thought on “Keeping make up fun

Leave a comment